Attempt #746658 (Week 34)

I don’t know why the ‘yay I did it’ post is the toughest to write. Maybe because the mocking of myself comes more naturally than the praise. That and it is way more fun to write about the mishaps, the failures, and my complete lack of experience in running.

20130914-183729.jpg

But now I have completed a half marathon. And didn’t seriously injure myself. And I felt pretty good about that. IT IS LIKE,UP IS DOWN AND LEFT IS RIGHT! THE WORLD DOESN’T MAKE SENSE ANYMORE!

So I would like to lay blame on those whose encouragement broke my brain:

  • For my 3 amazing sister-in-laws, whose tenacity was without relent and who provided me with rides, lodging, and running partners (special note for Cassidy who first had the crazy idea)
  • For the random other runners/walkers that participated… How awesome to spend time watching others in the same state of body punishment as me (I am aware that makes me sound like a horrible person)
  • For my fans… Those who knew my name on the sidelines and for those who didn’t but were equipped with high fives, ‘Go Random Stranger Go’ signs, jelly beans, volunteers with Gatorade and water, and everyone else
  • For my family, providing me a wonderful plant, proud words, a place to debrief and boast, and a lunch to dine on to recover
  • For all those who told me they were thinking about me as I ran
  • For the random house with the sign that there was beer ahead… And there was… Even though I couldn’t partake 10 km in… The laughter was worth it
  • For my brain, who somehow enjoyed it and made me smile and dance
  • For my family, who is supportive in every harebrained scheme
  • For thoughts of a loved one, as I ran by the cemetery where she was laid
  • For the volunteer who told us it was the last hill til the finish line
  • Seriously, I am in awe of the entire situation.

    You are all awesome.

    20130914-183753.jpg

    6 thoughts on “Attempt #746658 (Week 34)

    insert feedback; receive imaginary token of awesome

    