Week 2 Overview

Week Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday
Extras 30 squats 15 burpees 30 push-ups 30 sit-ups 5 manmakers 30 push-ups 20 lunges
2 Rest 20 Minutes 30 min 20 Minutes Bootcamp Rest 2.5 Miles
run cross train run

Week 2 looks exactly like week 1. This was by design. I knew the first week would be the worst in terms of the daily routine. So I wanted a chance to get it correct before moving on to tougher things.

An athlete cannot run with money in his pocketsHe must run with hope in his heart and dreams in his head.” ~Emil Zatopek.

I liked this quote a) because the dude was a runner so he should know something b) I never have any money to run with so I can complete at least a third of this quote without even trying c) I do run with day dreams in my head d) I am still working on the hope thing (regarding running that is).

I was glad that I had my rest day set for Saturday this past week. I ended up getting a migraine. It is one of the “oh so fun” symptoms of Premature Ovarian Failure or Primary Ovarian Insufficiency (whichever term you feel like using).

I rarely got migraines until my daughter was born. Once she turned a year old they came fast and furious. I returned to University at that time and I would have hot flashes and then seemingly randomly I would have a migraine the next day. It took me quite some time to put those two occurrences together but knowing when I could probably predict them helped me greatly before I was on any type of medication.

I don’t have them very frequently any more (hooray HRT?) but now that I am susceptible to them I tend to get them for a myriad of reasons.

Thus I have developed a system for when I do get a migraine:

  1.  take my medication (switch my patch normally)
  2.  take a pain reliever (to placate my husband)
  3. drink a lot of liquids (in case I am dehydrated)
  4. eat a slice of toast with peanut butter (in case I am hungry)
  5. slam a cup of coffee (in case it is caffeine related)
  6. cold compress on forehead (ice pack or cloth with ice cubes in it)
  7. hot compress on neck and back (magic bag)
  8. darkness
  9. And pray that I don’t get sick to my stomach

This Saturday it didn’t come to #9. It was extremely painful from the time I woke up to about 1 pm. Then it began to subside and I was able to get on with my day.

I am going to make sure Friday nights that I drink enough liquids. My workout was tough enough that I may have been a tad dehydrated.

My plan for the week is to get this routine down.

insert feedback; receive imaginary token of awesome

